The wait for Mac DeMarco’s third full length album, three year to be precise, is drawing closer to an end.

The imminent release of This Old Dog, the follow up to 2014’s Salad Days, was announced today, the news was accompanied by two songs – ‘This Old Dog’ and ‘My Old Man’ –  that will feature on the album. The record was written during a period of change for the Canadian musician, DeMarco moved from New York to Los Angeles during the period that followed Another One, the mini-release from 2015. He stated, “I demoed a full album, and as I was moving to the West Coast I thought I’d get to finishing it quickly. But then I realized that moving to a new city, and starting a new life takes time. Usually I just write, record, and put it out; no problem. But this time, I wrote them and they sat. When that happens, you really get to know the songs. It was a different vibe.”

The aforementioned different vibe includes modest experimentations with modern technology during the production process, however, the thirteen tracks remain faithful to Mac’s synonymous relaxed sound.

Along with the announcement of a new album, Mac shared plans of a worldwide tour taking him around North America and Europe, including a date in Dublin’s Vicar Street on November 22nd. Tickets for this show will be made available on February 3rd at 9am on Ticketmaster with prices starting at 25.


This Old Dog will be available on May 3rd via Captured Tracks.

This Old Dog Tracklisting:

  1. My Old Man
  2. This Old Dog
  3. Baby You’re Out
  4. For the First Time
  5. One Another
  6. Still Beating
  7. Sister
  8. Dreams From Yesterday
  9. A Wolf Who Wears Sheeps Clothes
  10. One More Love Song
  11. On the Level
  12. Moonlight on the River
  13. Watching Him Fade Away


Credit – original post here